SUMMIT SPOTLIGHT: BERNIE PERRYMAN

BerniePerrymanSpotlight

Batteries Plus Bulbs, CEO/Business Owner

 2018 Women Of Influence Summit Option B Speaker

My typical day looks like:

I begin my morning  with prayers and affirmation readings. I always try to have coffee with my husband if he is home. Then I create a daily to do list, complete my daily back office work, then drive to a store or meeting. Once I’m out of the house, I spend my time attending local community events and activities from Rotary, United Way, to Chamber, etc. I then spend some time with the stores at least 2-3 times a week. Often there are evening events I like to attend, but if not, I will go home to have dinner (again, with my husband if he is at home.) 

With my Option B story, most of these activities still apply, but I have purposely cut back my community engagements. I spend more time at home completing my office responsibilities and manage the business via computer and phone calls. The side effects from chemo can occur at any time and my strength levels limit my activities. I plan each day based on my strength and around required activities that take me out of the house. It’s been a pretty boring summer. It is a goal of mine to get out of the house each day for at least a few hours. These hours are spent going to see my team at work or a community activity like Rotary. I insist on visiting the store teams at least 2-3 days a week. Even if it is the only thing I do that day, I need to have that contact with my guys

Finally, I have changed my daily routines to include planned time with my husband. Spending time with my husband is balance for managing my illness and life activities. I will work ahead and schedule activities around the days my husband is not working. Together we plan daily activities we can do together; date nights, walks in the park, short road trips to have dinner in surrounding towns. Bottomline, I continue to complete the necessary daily office work needed to run the Company (because I have to), but more important – my focus is spending time with the store teams and my husband to complete a good day.

 

What is your favorite part of your job?

I love my time with my Batteries Plus team and talking with customers about our services and local engagement.

 

How do you spend your free time?

I like doing yard work, walking or just sitting on the porch with a beverage. I am also a old TV sitcom watcher such as Sopranos, Gunsmoke, Perry Mason and Miami Vice. My husband and I enjoy going out to dinner outside of St. Cloud.

 

What’s on your summer reading list?

Our Father, Lean In, Option B, Counterfeit Gods and Maria Shriver’s I’ve Been Thinking.

 

How has Next Monday been of value to you and your career? 

Networking and visiting with the ladies during presentations, making friends within my peer group and the take-aways from the topics that are presented.

 

What are you looking forward to at the Women of Influence Summit in September?

Visiting with all the ladies attending the event and hearing all the REAL stories during the Summit presentations and from the conversations during the day.

 

What are you hoping to share with fellow attendees at the Women of Influence Summit?

That we should not allow anyone, or thing, to take away our joy. Set backs are just set ups to something new in life. Resilience is a muscle that keeps you moving forward. Finally, that my Option B focus is now about “who” and not “what”.

 

What would you do (for a career) if you weren’t doing this?

Executive position with the national travel, hotel and resort industry.

 

What would you most like to tell yourself at age 18?

That nothing is easy, but work hard and I can be whoever or whatever I want to.

 

What’s the best gift you’ve ever received?

A gold cross with the inscription of YGT on the back. YOU GOT THIS. My husband gave it to me during my first chemo infusion.

 

If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?

Equestrian horse riding.

 

Where is the best place you’ve traveled to and why?

Maui, Hawaii. Scenery, ocean, weather, sitting outside at restaurants, fishing, boating, laid back, the locals – all of it. Being outside all the time!

Topics: Spotlight
Seeking Accountability & Connection? Join a Peer Group

Comments